News:

Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

Randomized Terrain On New Game Startup

Started by MarkAnthony, June 18, 2019, 12:12:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MarkAnthony

Hi.  :)

I got the day off today and decided to start my second attempt at playing Banished. I'll confess, I didn't do a forum search to see if this question has been asked before so please forgive me this faux pas.

When I was in the New Game window I saw the randomize button for the town name and the seed number. I know other mods add different and sometimes numerous terrains and climates and start conditions to what's available in vanilla Banished.

My question is, has anyone made or considered making a mod that edits the New Game window so that terrain, climate and starting conditions could be randomized as well? I think that'd be pretty neat!  8) :P  I can see the fun in it, I can even imagine myself sometimes saying, "Sweeet!" or more likely quite often (because I am new to Banished) saying, "DOH! That's gonna be a hard one!"   ??? :-\ :'(  Hehe.

I would love it and truly appreciate it even if one of you awesome modders here would take up that idea when you have time to spare. What are your thoughts?

Thank you in advance.

~MarkAnthony

EDIT: The general idea would be that a randomize button would be placed next to terrain, climate and starting conditions in the same way vanilla Banished places them next to the town name and seed number fields. But I would also like to see an additional randomize button that randomizes all three of them at once too. So we can either randomize them individually or all at once.

But though I didn't mention it at all above, I do not think it would be wise to randomize the map size, at all! I imagine there are players who have no interest at all in small or tiny maps; but even more so I imagine (depending on computer capabilities and weight of all the mods people play with) that large, very large etc,. would be unplayable for most people.  /shrug