News:

Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

Pre-purchase questions

Started by Katsuro, February 22, 2019, 02:25:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Katsuro

Good day to all. I recently stumbled upon Banished while watching YouTube and was intrigued by the game. I have looked for city building/survival games that doesn't require amassing armies, this one certainly looked the part I am searching for. I do have a few questions however, before purchasing.

1. I have a cheap WalMart laptop I purchased recently, HP Stream 14. I am not tech savvy, so unsure how the game would run on it (in terms of performance). Honestly, if the frame rate is low, this would be unsuitable for this PC and sadly, would likely end the purchase.

Assuming the top is acceptable:

2. What would entail creating a mod, most specifically building construction/some terrain adjustment. If only to use on my game, I love Asian architecture.  I play an older PS2 game, Nobunaga's Ambition Rise to Power (actually playing as I type) and would use the styles they use for their structures. Would one need a certain image program (ie photoshop, paint.net, etc) in addition to the creation kit or is the kit sufficient to make changes? Just something I may try my hand in.

3. Do I have to get the game via Steam? I only ask as I have a limited amount of storage and try not to use up the little I have left on other programs. 

I think this covers the more important questions, hopefully will be able to play the game soon if all is appropriate and become an active member of this community.

RedKetchup

all depends if you really want to put your asian assets in game. you will need a 3D program like Blender or 3DSMax. will your laptop handle this ? i dont think.

about playing with your laptop, you would need to not go in huge maps too much and keep it simple
+ you new future things you will do :)
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .