News:

Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

Normal Maps

Started by lamenagere, September 06, 2017, 07:33:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lamenagere

Hello there, I am new to this game and this forum. First of all, I wanted to congratulate RedKetchup for his staggering work on this game as the modders who seems to be a very active community.

One thing though are the graphics of the game. The choice to make it realistic is probably good and in harmony with the theme of the game, but the models, even if they are lovely, seems a bit poor on details (I'm aware of the poly limitations, especially on huge maps).

I don't know if they are supported, but I'm pretty sure normal maps would add something to the game. I was thinking of it as an optionnal map for 3d models and, for passionnate modders, would help them creating something even better looking.

Have fun anyway!
La Menagere.

embx61

I don't think the game supports normal maps as I did not see them used in Lukes example building files (Apiary) either.

I always try to put some detail in my buildings but not go over the top with it because of poly count but the main reason is that the zooming of Banished is quite limited so most of the details will be washed out so it will be just overhead without much benefit.

Welcome to WoB :)
[size=8pt][color=teal]My beloved Kathy
As you were you will always be
Treasured forever in my memory[/color][/size]

[size=10pt]For my list of Mods with download links go here[/size]

lamenagere

Thank you embx61 :)