Author Topic: ModKit not producing results  (Read 1026 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #15 on: July 06, 2017, 03:35:46 PM »
oh. huh? did you open it in the modkit or did you add the mod to the game?


i made the .pkm , moved the .pkm to Banished/WinData folder and i launched the REAL steam game

i am checking how to add another new terrain size ( a 4th one cause small medium large count for 3)
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Online brads3

  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1442
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2017, 03:58:20 PM »
just to give yas a heads up. be careful of going too large on the map. there were many attempts with errors and glitches. CC huge is the largest that i know that does work. i do thibnk the attempts were long ago and now there might be more understandings of the codes. it would be nice to see a gigantic map that does work.not saying don't attempt it,but to be careful and realize this maybe one of those game limits.

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2017, 04:20:10 PM »
i still didnt figured out how we can add a 4th size.

there is some mention in the string table ...

Code: [Select]
StringTable terrainSize
{
Entry _strings
[
{ String _name = "TerrainSize0"; String _text = "Small"; }
{ String _name = "TerrainSize1"; String _text = "Medium"; }
{ String _name = "TerrainSize2"; String _text = "Large"; }
]
}

i added another line
Code: [Select]
{ String _name = "TerrainSize3"; String _text = "Xtra Large"; }

but i am still trying to figure out how the game define the array of  number of TerrainSize from 3 to 4

i thought at some point /Dialog/MapParams.rsc would do it cause it calls the StringTable terrainSize but ... nothing seems happening :(
surely something somewhere... or it is Hardcoded and hidden in the data.pkg
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #18 on: July 06, 2017, 04:21:25 PM »
probably what you ll have to do ... is in your plains, delete the "small one" and let only the medium/large/Xlarge ones
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #19 on: July 06, 2017, 04:31:56 PM »
i see also a Dialog/NewGame.rsc which seems similar to MapParams.rsc....
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #20 on: July 06, 2017, 04:48:53 PM »
i see also a Dialog/NewGame.rsc which seems similar to MapParams.rsc....

doesnt lead anywhere neither :(

so as i said :
probably what you ll have to do ... is in your plains, delete the "small one" and let only the medium/large/Xlarge ones


go with that
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline quadgamer

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #21 on: July 06, 2017, 05:08:23 PM »
@RedKetchup Seriously, thank you for all your help & esp your time.

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2017, 05:17:27 PM »
GOT IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   ;D


but i noticed there will be a valley xlarge and mountain xlarge. since they arent added, the game will hang forever in the map generation (doing nothing cause he doesnt find the xlarge mountain and xlarge valley) so you should better to make those too !!! ^^


 ;D
« Last Edit: July 06, 2017, 05:20:59 PM by RedKetchup »
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline quadgamer

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #23 on: July 06, 2017, 05:21:09 PM »
You are brilliant! That's awesome. Ok, I'll make them as well.

-I just posted on BlackLiquidSoftware asking for help. I better take it down.

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #24 on: July 06, 2017, 05:21:22 PM »
you just have to download the fixed "MyMod" .zip

here the screenshot
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline quadgamer

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #25 on: July 06, 2017, 05:22:49 PM »
So cool!

Offline quadgamer

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #26 on: July 06, 2017, 05:26:51 PM »
And you fixed it?! Who's better than you! Much appreciation.
(I didn't expect so much help. Really. Thanks.)

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #27 on: July 06, 2017, 05:30:50 PM »
And you fixed it?! Who's better than you! Much appreciation.
(I didn't expect so much help. Really. Thanks.)

here on WOB we always try to help as much as we can :)
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline quadgamer

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #28 on: July 06, 2017, 05:40:18 PM »
modkit\resource\Game\Terrain there are Valleys.rsc, Mountains.rsc and TerrainList.rsc
Should I add Plains.rsc there too?

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 7386
Re: ModKit not producing results
« Reply #29 on: July 06, 2017, 05:48:22 PM »
modkit\resource\Game\Terrain there are Valleys.rsc, Mountains.rsc and TerrainList.rsc
Should I add Plains.rsc there too?

no
you do the opposite you put a copy of mountain and valley inside your mymods/plains/game/terrain

and you add the 4th one of each at the end of those

and you call those in your plainsresources.rsc

you never work in your resource folder, they are your original copies. never edit those neither.
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.