Author Topic: An odd problem with "cow"  (Read 257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Oona

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 22
An odd problem with "cow"
« on: September 22, 2017, 11:55:53 AM »
I'm playing the Steam version of Banished. I'm running Red's New Medieval Town mod with a few other minor mods. (List available on request. Kid's cow mod is in my WinData folder but not showing on the mod list, so not activated.) I have 20 x 20 pastures with sheep, chickens, vanilla cattle and one empty 20 x 20 pasture. The trader came with "cattle" and "cow" for sale. I bought 8 "cows." I set a herdsman to work in the pasture before completing the trade.

But the "cows" won't leave the trading post.

I tried:
- moving the vanilla cattle to the empty pasture.
- stopping work in the pasture and restarting it.
- firing all my herdsmen and rehiring them.
- setting the pasture to be destroyed and then reclaiming it.
- actually destroying the trading post, thinking the "cows" might be glitched in it.

They don't seem to move around the trading post paddock. Sometimes I think I see them begin to move and then pop back to their original spot. Maybe my imagination.

Do the cattle need something special that I have missed learning about? I must have done something to cause this but I can't figure out what...
Some days I'm amazing. Other days I put the laundry in the oven.

Offline galensgranny

  • Trader
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
Re: An odd problem with "cow"
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2017, 12:07:33 PM »
I have only been playing banished for a few months so am not an expert at all, but sometimes what helped me when things didn't seem to be going well is to exit Steam completely, then start it again.

I have Kid's black and white cows and bought some from the trader and they did move to a pasture, so the cows themselves do work in the game without needing anything special.

Offline brads3

  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1439
Re: An odd problem with "cow"
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2017, 02:28:10 PM »
i am assuming you mean you have 4 pastures: chickens,sheep,vanilla cattle and 1 more.after you bought the new cows,does the pasture give you a new slot that says "cows"?if yes,then it might be they are being moved but slower than you expect. if there is no new slot then there is a issue. i believe you have 2 cows,RED's and KID.s since i think there is black and white cows in NMT. it might depend on versions.if you still have an issue,there is 2 things to try. 1 is reverse KID's cows and RED's NMT mods in mod order. the other is load the old compatibility BUILDINGS mod.it was primarily made for CC,but the mod compensates for items and buildings having the same name. hopefully it is just the cows being slow and taking their time moving.

Offline Oona

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: An odd problem with "cow"
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2017, 06:29:11 PM »
I thought I had Kid's mod in my WinData folder but I don't. The cows come from NMT. Ill try waiting more. Game speed is 10x, though.
Some days I'm amazing. Other days I put the laundry in the oven.

Offline Oona

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: An odd problem with "cow"
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2017, 05:59:10 PM »
Well, I left the "cows" alone for an in-game year and they are definitely stuck. I wonder if they can die...
Some days I'm amazing. Other days I put the laundry in the oven.

Offline Goblin Girl

  • Laborer
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: An odd problem with "cow"
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2017, 10:12:35 AM »
I don't have the steam version of the game, but it's possible this could still be your problem:

I noticed that there are Frisian cows and Frysian cows.  One comes from Colonial Charter, and the other one comes from...I have no idea, honestly.  But, the game doesn't see them as the same thing, so they won't live in a pasture set up for the  other one.  I was having some other problems that I was trying to solve with load order, and one of the changes I made got rid of  the Frysian cow option, and put it back to the Frisian cow. 


Offline brads3

  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1439
Re: An odd problem with "cow"
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2017, 11:10:21 AM »
@Oona  are yoiu using the compatability mods? and in the right order? i say that because i am guilty myself of placing the older compat building mod above CC and it has to be below it to work.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2oKJ9gdaP7dVlIxUWdEMTVZekE/view?usp=sharing