News:

Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

New to Banished - all people stop moving?

Started by jah1138, July 13, 2017, 07:00:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jah1138

Hi all,

I'm having a problem with Banished that is puzzling me.

I've searched for this issue and I can find almost no references to similar experiences. I don't know if this is a play condition, but if it is it seems like I would find a lot more evidence of people stumbling into the same situation. So, if this is a known issue covered elsewhere, thanks in advance for pointing me to it!

I was in my first game of Banished, in late Spring of year 3, and all my people suddenly stopped moving in the middle of whatever they were doing. People aren't hungry or cold or anything like that. They're happy, healthy, and have food. There are lots of resources available, but I'm getting a bit low on logs. I can't see any signs that this is caused by a shortage of anything, although again, I'm new to this.

Everything else in the game seems to function. I can click on people and buildings and stuff and get the data. The soothing music continues to play, and so on. Everything seems cool... except the people have stopped. I even set them all to Laborer to see if their jobs were requiring things they didn't have. The game says they're all laborers now, but the people still don't move.

Next, I loaded the save point from a couple of hours earlier in the same game, winter of Year 1. I was hoping it would just be something flukey from that particular moment, perhaps non-repeatable. Yeah, I lost 2+ years, but at least the people were still moving! (I'll save more often!) However, after playing for about five minutes -- all the people stopped! This is the same game that I had played until the Year 3 stoppage, so it seems even less likely now that it was an in-game play condition, and perhaps something about my system that's making the game unhappy.