Author Topic: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??  (Read 1241 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 6809
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2017, 11:51:34 PM »
Luke had no idea to make animations ^^

he did a certain way and made the code to make work his attempts lol
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1639
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2017, 01:54:51 AM »
Yes, you're right. He wrote the graphics code himself,
that's why we can't get standard stuff into it. Sad facts.  :(
There are so many nice animated models out there I want to use.

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 6809
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2017, 05:40:33 AM »

There are so many nice animated models out there I want to use.

no kidding :(
all the animated animals !!
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1639
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2017, 08:40:40 AM »
Can we mail Luke and ask for advice?

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 6809
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline embx61

  • Modders
  • Architect
  • *****
  • Posts: 935
  • You are always on my mind, Forever in my heart
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2017, 11:42:30 AM »
Hi guys
long time not see.

Had a long break from modding but I am slowly trying to come back to it.

ShockPuppet did some animations on some animals in CC so there must be a way to do it with a purchased animal. ( I guess that BL bought the animals)
I purchased an animated wild boar mesh a good while ago but was not able to make chocolate out of it so send the files to Kralyerg so BL could use it but it seems like they not get it to work. (yet) as it is months ago I send the files and did not hear anything yet.

No big deal as the mesh was pretty cheap but my guess is that Shock must have found a way to put some animated animals in the game.
My beloved Kathy
As you were you will always be
Treasured forever in my memory

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 6809
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2017, 12:37:17 PM »
Hi guys
long time not see.

Had a long break from modding but I am slowly trying to come back to it.

ShockPuppet did some animations on some animals in CC so there must be a way to do it with a purchased animal. ( I guess that BL bought the animals)
I purchased an animated wild boar mesh a good while ago but was not able to make chocolate out of it so send the files to Kralyerg so BL could use it but it seems like they not get it to work. (yet) as it is months ago I send the files and did not hear anything yet.

No big deal as the mesh was pretty cheap but my guess is that Shock must have found a way to put some animated animals in the game.

oh yeah but he had to delete everything but the animal and redo everything, like the cows i bought. was animated, got to delete and redo the skellie (bones) and then redo the animations frames.

yes it is possible but the way it works for banished is not the same as usual
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline Bartender

  • Coding Magician
  • Modders
  • Trader
  • *****
  • Posts: 168
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2017, 03:18:08 PM »
So essentially, unless Shock decides to sit down for a week to write us an extensive tutorial, we're not going to get anywhere?

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 6809
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2017, 03:20:56 PM »
So essentially, unless Shock decides to sit down for a week to write us an extensive tutorial, we're not going to get anywhere?

we are not going anywhere :(

unless you are enough intelligent to understand how luke make it work (and shock succeed to make it work as Luke did)
personally my IQ is not enough big to understand ^^
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 6809
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #24 on: March 26, 2017, 01:43:38 AM »
so since i am making some trees for the asian theme....

and i was looking at the animation part...



so far personally ....

the toolkit accept my code... the toolkit doesnt bug me but .... the falling animation isnt happening in game

oh and in my resource file the animation is ON:

Code: [Select]
ModelDescription model
{
    MeshGroup _meshes
    [
        {
            AnimationGroup _animations = "Models\JapaneseBambooTree1Anims.rsc";
            GraphicsMesh _mesh [ "Models\JapaneseBambooTree1Mesh.rsc" ]
        }
    ]

    int _displayIndex = 0;
    int _subIndex = 0;   
    bool _randomIndex = false;
}

and

Code: [Select]

    bool _animated = true;
    Time _preAnimateTime = 6.0;
    Time _postAnimateTime = 3.0;   
    ToolType _toolType = Axe;





my tree anim file set 3 points:

Code: [Select]
AnimationGroup resource
{
    Animation _animations
    [
        {
            String _meshName = "Models\JapaneseBambooTree1Mesh.rsc"; String _sourceName = "Models\JapaneseBambooTree1.fbx";
            String _name = "Fall";
            int _startFrame = 0;
            int _endFrame = 60;
            float _rate = 15.000000;
            bool _looping = false;
        }
        {
            String _meshName = "Models\JapaneseBambooTree1Mesh.rsc"; String _sourceName = "Models\JapaneseBambooTree1.fbx";
            String _name = "Sink";
            int _startFrame = 60;
            int _endFrame = 150;
            float _rate = 15.000000;
            bool _looping = false;
        }
        {
            String _meshName = "Models\JapaneseBambooTree1Mesh.rsc"; String _sourceName = "Models\JapaneseBambooTree1.fbx";
            String _name = "Remove";
            int _startFrame = 0;
            int _endFrame = 150;
            float _rate = 15.000000;
            bool _looping = false;
        }
    ]
}


it find the Fall and the Remove at 0 , and the Sink at 60.
and this is probably why it doesnt bug me when i compile but ....


in game ... the tree disappear and it is not actually falling



for info at 60 = screen 2 , at 90 = screen 3 and at 150 = screen 4.



i dunno what i am missing
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline Necora

  • Modders
  • Trader
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2017, 05:23:17 AM »
@RedKetchup  that is similar to what I did for my first bunch of trees, linked them to my own anims file. I think the maple tree I made was using the fig example and still had the camera and things from that. This meant it didn't crash, but wasn't animated.

Offline Bartender

  • Coding Magician
  • Modders
  • Trader
  • *****
  • Posts: 168
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #26 on: March 31, 2017, 12:47:18 AM »
I applaud your bravery for trying to figure this out @RedKetchup  ;).

I expect that the only way it will work is if you use the exact same way of animating as Luke used in the originals. I don't understand much of 3DSMax, but it seems that your models don't have a bone structure? From what I could see in the FigTree.fbx, his trees seem to have bones.


« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 08:29:30 AM by RedKetchup »

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 6809
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2017, 08:29:37 AM »
I applaud your bravery for trying to figure this out @RedKetchup  ;).

I expect that the only way it will work is if you use the exact same way of animating as Luke used in the originals. I don't understand much of 3DSMax, but it seems that your models don't have a bone structure? From what I could see in the FigTree.fbx, his trees seem to have bones.

i dont know, when i load figtree.fbx i dont see bones. usually 3dsmax should show them to me :S
unless it is again a non conventionnal .... bones :S
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.

Offline Bartender

  • Coding Magician
  • Modders
  • Trader
  • *****
  • Posts: 168
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2017, 09:11:37 AM »
That's odd, when I load it in Blender it does show me an armature (see the screenshot).

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 6809
Re: Changing trees in the naturalresourcetree file... animations??
« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2017, 09:38:27 AM »
i dont :(

certainly not a conventionnal one
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Paypal Donations < < <
Click here to PayPal Donate.