News:

Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

Question on mod creation/dependency

Started by IncredibleRan, April 01, 2017, 03:42:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IncredibleRan

Hey folks!

The husband and I both enjoy Banished and its many fabulous mods since a whole while now (Many thanks to the busy mod creators out there! <3), and we have a bunch of ideas of our own we wanna turn into a mod to contribute to the game. Neither of us ever made any game mod before, but since he's a programmer and I'm an illustrator, we're confident to pull this. Still, we ran into some question while working into this, regarding the mods that are already out there:

Is there a way for us to work with existing CC? We greatly enjoy playing with all the extra goods, materials and resources that came with the mods we're using. It would be nice to build upon that and expand our game with new buildings and professions depending on that CC.

Hopefully, some of the experienced mod creators around here can help us out.

embx61

@IncredibleRan

Hi and welcome to the forums.

It is certainly possible to make mods which are compatible with CC, and other mods and many mods are compatible with CC/NMT.
The main thing is to name the RawMaterial files, which are the goods in the game, the same as CC.
If CC have for example Salt as RawMaterial and it is named RawMaterialSalt.rsc then name it precisely that.

The game will flag your mod Red if CC is enabled as mod too but it just a warning because your Mod shares the RawMaterialSalt.rsc with CC's

Best thing to get started is to download the latest Modkit from Luke (The Developer of Banished) site

Install the Mod in the root of any partition on your harddrive. For example C:\Modkit. I have mine on F and named it F:\Banishedkit as my F partition is my dedicated modding patition.
Installing it in the standard Windows Program Files Folder can give security issues.