Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

Desperate need of vegan modders ..

Started by assobanana76, September 22, 2014, 01:43:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

assobanana76

we need crops of cotton and linen!!
are the first that come to mind ...
but also iron-rich vegetables such as spinach ..
or crops of sesame for calcium ..
please...
if you find grammatical errors have to be angry with GoogleTranslate! however, I am studying!!

rkelly17

Cotton and flax would be excellent additions to the game. They would change the clothes-making paradigm significantly, though. No longer could "coats" stand in for all clothing and the tailor would have to learn new skills. We would also need some sort of intermediary profession to get the cotton and flax from raw material to a form usable by the tailor.

According to Dieticians of Canada, Calcium is good in Collards, Kale, Spinach and Turnip Greens, any of which could be grown in the Banished climate. Since Spinach is also good for iron, that would be an excellent addition. Kale does both and would also be nice. Among those crops already in the game, potatoes and pumpkin seeds are good for iron and dried beans are good for both.

salamander

I can see a 'need' for cotton and flax as textiles, but I agree with @rkelly17, including them would change the game quite a bit if they were modded in so as to allow tailors to use them for producing clothes.  Adding them would require some real thought to keep the game balanced.

As far as the iron and calcium, there's no evidence (that I'm aware of) that the game considers individual minerals contained in 'real-life' crops as far as health benefits.  So ... although I sort of understand wanting the cotton and flax, I don't get the need for the specific crops (spinach and sesame) you (@assobanana76) mentioned.