Author Topic: House on fire (and other questions)  (Read 23988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • Never confuse movement with progress
House on fire (and other questions)
« on: February 04, 2016, 04:44:36 AM »
Hi!

Does the game translate smoke coordinates differently from use_001 or build_001?
« Last Edit: February 04, 2016, 09:44:39 AM by kid1293 »

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 10997
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2016, 11:25:51 AM »
the smoke need its own dummy , we generally called it smoke, or smoke1 ...
and in your particle function in your template, you need to link your pointlist

Code: [Select]
ParticleDescription particle
{
PointList _pointList = "Models\NewMedievalBakeryPoints.rsc";

ParticleAttachment _systems
[
{
Time _fadeInOutTime = 2.0;
bool _addOnCreate = false;
bool _addOnNotify = false;
Particle _particle = "ParticleSystems\Fire\FireMedium.rsc";
}
{
bool _addOnCreate = false;
Particle _particle = "ParticleSystems\ChimneySmoke\ChimneySmoke.rsc";
String _attachNode = "smoke";
}
]
}


the only difference between a smoke dummy than a use_001 dummy for example it is 3D, you need to set up the height , while a use_001 is always at 0 lvl
« Last Edit: February 04, 2016, 11:28:00 AM by RedKetchup »
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2016, 02:33:26 PM »
Done and done, house is still burning.
Have changed name, location and scale and it seems like it is stuck with 'points'.
Have seen other examples of smoke-point being way out of the chimney but it
is still working like it is supposed to. Strange...

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 10997
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2016, 06:19:11 PM »
your dummy called 'points' should be at 0,0,0
using the 'connect' button, the other points should be connected to this 0 0 0 points and should be at their place.

be sure to have the good name ' smoke' dummy =  'smoke' in the template. if you name it 'smoke1' be sure the name is correct in the .rsc
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2016, 10:48:04 PM »
Solved!
Not sure what happened. I've tested with 'smoke1' and 'smoke_001'
and it didn't work. Now changed to just 'smoke' and all is OK.
So, don't smoke anything strange, eh?

BTW. Can you explain what a diffuse-map is?

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 10997
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2016, 12:49:53 AM »
diffuse map is wrapping and coloring a 3d shape with a bitmap image, a texture, while displaying the original pixel colors of the image.
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2016, 02:00:35 AM »
Is this the same pixelcoloring there is in 3d-edit where I sometimes see
a 'frontside' and a 'backside' of the plane?

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 10997
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2016, 02:20:18 AM »
yes kinda, if you 'applied' a texture to it
« Last Edit: February 05, 2016, 02:28:16 AM by RedKetchup »
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2016, 05:36:05 AM »
Is diffuse-mapping a substitute for UV-mapping?

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 10997
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2016, 12:56:44 PM »
no, UV Mapping is part of all mapping (whatever if it is diffuse, spectacular, bump.... etc)
the mapping is "applying' the texture on each sides of the form/plane
« Last Edit: February 05, 2016, 12:59:17 PM by RedKetchup »
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2016, 12:09:10 AM »
Questions,questions...

Can someone tell me how to link a picture in download section?
I click 'insert picture' nothing happens.

please

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 10997
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2016, 02:15:30 AM »
did you uploaded it in your gallery ? (did you click on the picture to see it big and then right clicked on it and get property and copy the link you ll see ?)
or has been uploaded elsewhere ? (do you have a link for the picture ?)

or just insert in "attachments and other options" on the link below when you type a post

(if you click "insert picture" you should get a [ url ] [ /url ] and you just have to insert the link to your image (http:/// something)
« Last Edit: February 13, 2016, 02:17:50 AM by RedKetchup »
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2016, 03:54:07 AM »
Hi again!
I have done all that, pic in gallery, checked url
but when I click 'insert picture' nothing happens.

Edit: Windows new browser EDGE does not support this function!
        It works with old Internet Explorer.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2016, 04:03:06 AM by kid1293 »

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 10997
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2016, 05:19:34 AM »
when you click the "insert image" button this is what you should get. it only missing the url to your image

if the [img ][ /img] without brakets does NOT appear... then write it manually :

open_braket + img + close_braket + your url + open_braket + /img + close_braket

like in your picture.


the "insert image" does NOT open a window explorer so you can choose an image in your drive ! it only type img /img between brakets. thats all
you need to put your image somewhee and put the url
« Last Edit: February 13, 2016, 05:24:39 AM by RedKetchup »
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 3800
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: House on fire (and other questions)
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2016, 08:43:51 AM »
Check my last post. It works with Internet Explorer.
I remember that the new browser does not support Flash/Java

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk