Author Topic: errors in tools-x64  (Read 3237 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Maxvdb

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
errors in tools-x64
« on: September 04, 2016, 12:00:17 PM »
i'm trying to get modding. i know how to make 3d models, but can't get te tools-64x working propperly

can someone say what 'm doiing wrong?


Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1970
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2016, 01:40:26 PM »
It is almost certain something wrong with your paths.
Have you moved the examples?

Have you edited the batch-file?
« Last Edit: September 04, 2016, 02:06:23 PM by kid1293 »

Offline embx61

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • You are always on my mind, Forever in my heart
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2016, 08:02:10 PM »
Kid is right.

It looks for ApiaryResoursec.rsc file and cannot find it.
So the path is not right.

By looking at it again it looks like the bin in the path is wrong.

Copy these lines in a text file and save with extension bat in C:\BanishedKit

bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /build Package.rsc:list /pathres ../example/translation /pathdat ../example/translation/bin
bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /mod Package.rsc:translationExample /pathres ../example/translation /pathdat ../example/translation/bin

bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /build apiaryResources.rsc /pathres ../example/building /pathdat ../example/building/bin
bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /mod Package.rsc:apiary /pathres ../example/building /pathdat ../example/building/bin

bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /build lettuceResources.rsc /pathres ../example/crop /pathdat ../example/crop/bin
bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /mod Package.rsc:lettuce /pathres ../example/crop /pathdat ../example/crop/bin

bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /build figResources.rsc /pathres ../example/tree /pathdat ../example/tree/bin
bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /mod Package.rsc:fig /pathres ../example/tree /pathdat ../example/tree/bin

bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /build whiteChickenResources.rsc /pathres ../example/animal /pathdat ../example/animal/bin
bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /mod Package.rsc:whiteChicken /pathres ../example/animal /pathdat ../example/animal/bin

Are you from the Netherlands or Belgium?
I see your windows is in Dutch. I am born in the Netherlands myself but live since 1999 in the USA  :)

I also see the sprite folder in the root what should be a folder inside the UI folder.
And the 2 files spritesheet.rsc and spritsheetmaterial.rsc should be inside the UI folder too.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2016, 08:24:38 PM by embx61 »
My beloved Kathy
As you were you will always be
Treasured forever in my memory

Offline Maxvdb

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2016, 06:19:43 AM »
oke thanks i will try it. yea it didn't find the files so i just copied and paste it everywhere.

jazeker kom uit Nederland:)

Offline Maxvdb

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2016, 09:30:15 AM »
i have deleted my BanishedKit and reinstalled it. then added your lines, and they work and i can see them and play with the example mods.
but when i make a new folder and add some files, change them compile and start the game i can see the mods even the changed ones but, i added a stonehouse with less stone required to build i don't see the new house on the toolbar.

Offline embx61

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • You are always on my mind, Forever in my heart
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2016, 10:18:13 AM »
Can you zip/rar your whole house directory and post it here on the forum so I can take a look at it?

Let see if I have this straight.
You only want to change the build values of the Vanilla Stone houses?

If so you have to make an so called override.

No need for all the graphics and stuff. We just being cheap and using Luke's. LOL.  Only the Stonehouse.rsc file in the Template folder from Luke is needed to change.

Look at some tutorials from Slink in the Tutorials section in this forum for some examples how an override and toolbar stuff is done.

In the beginning the modkit can be very confusing because one file calls another and that one calls another.
But try first a simple override and go from there.

Trust me, with some time it will become second nature, and even while I am modding a bit over a year I still make mistakes enough :)

« Last Edit: September 05, 2016, 10:32:22 AM by embx61 »
My beloved Kathy
As you were you will always be
Treasured forever in my memory

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1970
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2016, 11:09:00 AM »
Hi!
Take a look at this thread.
http://worldofbanished.com/index.php?topic=1179.0

tanypredator also started from scratch and in that post there are many
things for starting up.

Offline Maxvdb

  • Newb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2016, 09:22:57 AM »
i looked at your DebugMenu i can run the .bat file it finnishes it shows it but cant find it on a new game.

i included a zip file of the DebugMenu with 2 printscreens.

i noticed the game runs version 1.0.6 is that the problem?

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1970
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2016, 12:34:23 PM »
1.0.6 is OK.
here is where to look.
BTW, did you understand what I did in the code?

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1970
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2016, 12:42:01 PM »
Just a heads-up:
When you compile a mod, there will be one or two directories
in your directory with the mod file.
They are named 'bin' and 'Build'
You should always delete them after you have compiled a mod!
If they are left there they will stop new changes from being compiled.
(The compiler looks and - ahhh it's already there! So nothing new...)

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1970
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2016, 01:12:00 PM »
Might as well continue -

If you want to change the Stone House, all you have to do is copy
the file StoneHouse.rsc from 'BanishedKit/resource/Template'
to your moddirectory with a 'Template' folder.  OK?

Open your StoneHouse.rsc and scroll down and find
Code: [Select]
BuildDescription build
{
int _workRequired = 45;

BuildRequirement _buildRequirement
[
{
ComponentDescription _rawMaterial = "Template/RawMaterialWood.rsc";
int _count = 24;
}
{
ComponentDescription _rawMaterial = "Template/RawMaterialStone.rsc";
int _count = 20; // (default = 40)
}
{
ComponentDescription _rawMaterial = "Template/RawMaterialIron.rsc";
int _count = 10;
}
]
}

As you can see I have changed the stone cost to 20.

Now you have to make some files in your 'stonehousemod-directory'
I have included them in the zip-file, but beware!
You don't have to change ALL the 'StoneHouse.rsc'
so you address it -
StoneHouse.rsc:build
only that section needs to be compiled. (the only thing changed)
like this (in the StoneHouseOverrideResources.rsc)
Code: [Select]
ExternalList resource
{
External _resources
[
"Template/StoneHouse.rsc:build"
]
}

You need a package file to actually 'pack' the mod after compiling.
Here it is (Package.rsc):
Code: [Select]
PackageFile StoneHouseOverride
{
String _name = "Stone House Override";
String _author = "me";
String _description = "This is an example";
String _icon = "icon.png";
int _userVersion = 1;

// all files in resource directory
String _includeList
[
"*"
]

// exclude package files, mod files, file used for building packages
String _excludeList
[
"Package_*.crs"
"*.pkg"
"*.pkm"
]
}

and finally a batchfile:
Code: [Select]
..\bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /build StoneHouseOverrideResources.rsc:resource /pathres ../MyStoneHouse /pathdat ../MyStoneHouse/bin
..\bin\x64\Tools-x64.exe /mod Package.rsc:StoneHouseOverride /pathres ../MyStoneHouse /pathdat ../MyStoneHouse/bin

Important! You can see that I have named the mod 'StoneHouseOverride'
That MUST be the same in the batchfile and in the Package-file
(Never mind the directory - you can name it what you want)

And an icon 48x48 (on transparent bottom) in png-format

As I have said before: Ask, if you want answers!
« Last Edit: September 06, 2016, 01:27:41 PM by kid1293 »

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1970
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2016, 02:49:07 PM »
One more before I tuck in.
First test the last change I posted.

If you open your StoneHouse.rsc
and scroll a little bit more than before you find:
Code: [Select]
StorageDescription storage
{
RawMaterialFlags _storageFlags = Edible | WoodFuel; //(default = Edible | Fuel)
bool _areaBasedLimit = false;
bool _available = false;
int _volumeLimit = 1000;
}

You can see I have changed 'Fuel' to 'WoodFuel'
(everything after // is a comment and does not compile)
Now your stonehouse does not use coal for heating.

goto 'StoneHouseOverrideResources.rsc'
and add a line:
Code: [Select]
ExternalList resource
{
External _resources
[
"Template/StoneHouse.rsc:build"
"Template/StoneHouse.rsc:storage"
]
}
And you will have another change in the same modfile.
You can add changes for a lot of things.
(Of course you don't have to make changes in one building only.
You can change every single building with one override-file.)

Offline embx61

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • You are always on my mind, Forever in my heart
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2016, 03:25:01 PM »
Quote
Just a heads-up:
When you compile a mod, there will be one or two directories
in your directory with the mod file.
They are named 'bin' and 'Build'
You should always delete them after you have compiled a mod!
If they are left there they will stop new changes from being compiled.
(The compiler looks and - ahhh it's already there! So nothing new...)

Are you sure about this Kid?
I am doing it as you said for a final build to be on the save side but I recompile many times in between without deleting the build and bin folders and the changes I made are compiled.
I think the compiler 'see' changes made to files.

But I agree it is better save then sorry, that is why I delete the folders just before the final build.
My beloved Kathy
As you were you will always be
Treasured forever in my memory

Offline kid1293

  • Modders
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 1970
  • Never confuse movement with progress
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #13 on: September 07, 2016, 03:16:38 AM »
embx61 - Maybe you are right!
I always thought the compiler skipped the whole thing because it worked so fast.
I will make tests some time.

Then again - better safe than sorry.

Offline Pangaea

  • Champion
  • Architect
  • *****
  • Posts: 571
Re: errors in tools-x64
« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2016, 07:14:36 AM »
I've not modded for a long while, being away from the game, but based on the posts here it works the same as before -- at least this is roughly what I remember.

You don't have to change ALL the 'StoneHouse.rsc'
so you address it -
StoneHouse.rsc:build
only that section needs to be compiled. (the only thing changed)
like this (in the StoneHouseOverrideResources.rsc)
Code: [Select]
ExternalList resource
{
External _resources
[
"Template/StoneHouse.rsc:build"
]
}

I just have an additional comment here. Doing it like above will make the mod files a little smaller (hardly a big issue these days, but still a good practice), but it will also likely make your mods more compatible with others. For instance, I made a mod that changed how long orchards live before dying, which changed the "growth" part of the .rsc file (if I remember correct), but also love to use the Better fields mod. This mod changes the same file, but a different part of it (probably pathType under map section). This means both mods can be used without any conflicts. With so many mods around and possibility for conflicts, it's a good way to go about things to reduce issues.