Author Topic: Advanced Blender Help? about "points"  (Read 390 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline angainor88

  • Trader
  • ****
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: us
Advanced Blender Help? about "points"
« on: September 23, 2018, 11:55:24 AM »
I've been trying to clean up my first model so it doesn't have all these extra bits lying around, and somehow made it so all the interact points are stuck at zero. The code has stayed the exact same, but now there's fire in the middle of my roof. Anyone know enough Blender to tell what has gone wrong?

The screenshot of the blender is below. I can send a link to the file if needed.

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 9915
  • Country: ca
Re: Advanced Blender Help? about "points"
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2018, 12:37:20 PM »
you are sure your point named "points" is at 0,0 ?

then go check your template at your "ParticleDescription particle" paragraph

there you have 2 options: put a link to your pointlist or NOT put a link to your pointlist.


if your "smoke" point is linked to your "points" point you need to put your link. like this:

Code: [Select]
ParticleDescription particle
{
PointList _pointList = "Models\Buildings\DoctorHouse\DoctorHousePoints.rsc";

ParticleAttachment _systems
[
{
Time _fadeInOutTime = 2.0;
bool _addOnCreate = false;
bool _addOnNotify = false;
Particle _particle = "ParticleSystems\Fire\FireMedium.rsc";
}
{
bool _addOnCreate = false;
Particle _particle = "ParticleSystems\ChimneySmoke\ChimneySmoke.rsc";
String _attachNode = "smoke";
}
]
}



if your "smoke" point is linked to your "mesh" model you need to NOT put your link. like this:

Code: [Select]
ParticleDescription particle
{
ParticleAttachment _systems
[
{
Time _fadeInOutTime = 2.0;
bool _addOnCreate = false;
bool _addOnNotify = false;
Particle _particle = "ParticleSystems\Fire\FireMedium.rsc";
}
{
bool _addOnCreate = false;
Particle _particle = "ParticleSystems\ChimneySmoke\ChimneySmoke.rsc";
String _attachNode = "smoke";
}
]
}


also make sure the "String _attachNode = "smoke";" is the exact same name as your "smoke" point in your model. if in your code it is written "smoke1" and in your model it is written "smoke" you will also get a fire smoke getting out from nowhere in middle of your mesh at 0,0
« Last Edit: September 23, 2018, 12:42:10 PM by RedKetchup »
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline angainor88

  • Trader
  • ****
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: us
Re: Advanced Blender Help? about "points"
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2018, 06:31:59 PM »
Yeah I have the first one, and the code is all right. It's definitely at 0,0,0 (it won't let me put it anywhere else). I am pretty sure ti's something wrong with the model, but I can't seem to figure out what...

Code: [Select]
ParticleDescription particle
{
PointList _pointList = "Models\CapeDutchCottagePoints.rsc";

ParticleAttachment _systems
[
{
Time _fadeInOutTime = 2.0;
bool _addOnCreate = false;
bool _addOnNotify = false;
Particle _particle = "ParticleSystems\Fire\FireSmall.rsc";
}
{
bool _addOnCreate = false;
Particle _particle = "ParticleSystems\ChimneySmoke\ChimneySmoke.rsc";
String _attachNode = "smoke";
}
]
}

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 9915
  • Country: ca
Re: Advanced Blender Help? about "points"
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2018, 06:43:44 PM »
then your model is not at 0,0,0 ?
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 9915
  • Country: ca
Re: Advanced Blender Help? about "points"
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2018, 07:00:34 PM »
as usual if want me to check deeply... you know what you will have to do :) (upload your folder without folder build and bin) and send me the link by personal messenging. i ll throw an eye ^^
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline Tom Sawyer

  • Modders
  • Architect
  • *****
  • Posts: 948
  • Country: is
Re: Advanced Blender Help? about "points"
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2018, 12:23:44 AM »
@angainor88 As far as I can see in your screenshot, there is something wrong with the scaling of your points. I can look at it and fix if you send me the Blender file. Also, I would recommend you to bind the smoke emitter on the mesh, not on points. It allows you different chimney locations in F variants.