Author Topic: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend: trying for a soft landing  (Read 42695 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline irrelevant

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2748
  • Country: us
irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend: trying for a soft landing
« on: November 11, 2014, 05:21:36 PM »
Just can't stop!

Random Seed, Disasters on for a change. This isn't going to be a metropolis, I'm trying from the start for steady growth to a plateau, just to see if it's possible.

Got the school built still in early spring, before my 9 y/o turned ten. First time I've ever managed that.

Wheat and Beans, a pleasant surprise. Cherry seeds, when I want them.

I'll never understand the folks who say, no farms until year 5, year 10; gatherers first! Farms are free food fast and easy.

Mods

RK Warehouse
RK Irrelevant Tweak Crop
RK Creamery and Dairy
RK Decorative Items
RK Small Chapel
RK New Medieval Town
RK Small House
RK Monastery
RK Grain Silo
SJGL Small Markets
SLGL Snug House
SLGL Lawn
JamieIdleAleAndFirewood
JamieIdleMerchantsAndTradeFixSlower
Pangaea Longer-living Orchards
Better Fields
BobbiDoctorHouse
Flatten Terrain
Pangaea No Wind

I will not add new mods.
I will not add new mods.
I will not add new mods.
I will not add new mods.
I will not upgrade existing mods.
I will not upgrade existing mods.
I will not upgrade existing mods.
I will not upgrade existing mods.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2014, 06:46:16 PM by irrelevant »

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 9624
  • Country: ca
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2014, 06:20:11 PM »
I will not add new mods.
I will not add new mods.
I will not add new mods.
I will not add new mods.
I will not upgrade existing mods.
I will not upgrade existing mods.
I will not upgrade existing mods.
I will not upgrade existing mods.


hahaha.
sorry bro it is not funny i know.
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline Mahnogard

  • Trader
  • ****
  • Posts: 151
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2014, 06:30:03 PM »
Looking forward to following your latest creation! :)

Offline irrelevant

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2748
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2014, 06:30:47 PM »
So, this is going well. When harvest started, I moved two more laborers onto the farms to insure the harvest came in. Just as the harvest was completing, the gatherer got built, so I moved the farmers to the gatherers hut. This is much more productive than letting the farmers be laborers over the winter.

I just have to remember to move two of the gatherers to the farms in late winter, to be sure they are there in time for planting.

Looking forward to following your latest creation! :)
Thanks @Mahnogard!

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 9624
  • Country: ca
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2014, 06:32:11 PM »
arrhhh so you didnt added Re-balanced Apiary Mod ?
sad, you cant add it now. will have to buy your honey :)
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline irrelevant

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2748
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2014, 06:33:17 PM »
arrhhh so you didnt added Re-balanced Apiary Mod ?
sad, you cant add it now. will have to buy your honey :)
Yes, there is a conflict with the Medieval Town. No conflicts! :D

Honey's cheap. ;) But I'm going to build just one or maybe two TPs.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2014, 06:35:34 PM by irrelevant »

Online RedKetchup

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 9624
  • Country: ca
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2014, 06:35:13 PM »
i ll try to add it in a future build , with a 2nd floor :)
good for you ? for next town :)
> > > Support Mods Creation developments with Donations by Paypal  < < <
Click here to Donate by PayPal .

Offline Mahnogard

  • Trader
  • ****
  • Posts: 151
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2014, 06:35:55 PM »
i ll try to add it in a future build , with a 2nd floor :)
good for you ? for next town :)

Of course it's good for him. And it's good for me too! :D

Offline irrelevant

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2748
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2014, 06:36:26 PM »
i ll try to add it in a future build , with a 2nd floor :)
good for you ? for next town :)
If it's in the Medieval Town? Yes!

Offline Mahnogard

  • Trader
  • ****
  • Posts: 151
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2014, 06:46:50 PM »
So, this is going well. When harvest started, I moved two more laborers onto the farms to insure the harvest came in. Just as the harvest was completing, the gatherer got built, so I moved the farmers to the gatherers hut. This is much more productive than letting the farmers be laborers over the winter.

I just have to remember to move two of the gatherers to the farms in late winter, to be sure they are there in time for planting.

Looking forward to following your latest creation! :)
Thanks @Mahnogard!

You're welcome! :) Will you be tracking any numbers? I'm interested to see what your yields look like doing that.

Offline salamander

  • Founder
  • Architect
  • *****
  • Posts: 624
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2014, 07:02:05 PM »
You're trying for a pop plateau, and I seem to be able to hit them when I don't want them.  Is it just me, or is there something wrong here?  ;D

Offline irrelevant

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2748
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2014, 07:03:00 PM »
Sure, here's the first year. Each farm got around 650, they weren't 120-tiles. This years farms are both 16x8, 128-tile; expecting 896 each. I've learned that with Irrelevant Tweak Crop you can push farms pretty far past 120.

Offline irrelevant

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2748
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2014, 07:03:54 PM »
You're trying for a pop plateau, and I seem to be able to hit them when I don't want them.  Is it just me, or is there something wrong here?  ;D
@salamander everyone's good at something that somebody else wants, it seems  ;) Got any tips?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2014, 05:48:42 AM by irrelevant »

Offline irrelevant

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2748
  • Country: us
Re: irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend
« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2014, 08:41:36 PM »

@Mahnogard Year two numbers (not quite over, but I have things to do)

The growing season was a bit off, the wheat didn't do what I wanted. And I don't know what was up with the hunter. Building a second cabin in the forest node.

But mainly I'm happy. Time to build the main market, a regular one first. Need to have a tailor, blacksmith, and tavern all in one spot, near the future TP. After that, @slink's markets all the way.

Offline irrelevant

  • Champion
  • Banished Expert
  • *****
  • Posts: 2748
  • Country: us
irrelevant: Frenchman's Bend: trying for a soft landing
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2014, 08:42:25 PM »
Early Spring 4

Taking shape. Producers producing. :)
« Last Edit: November 12, 2014, 06:46:34 PM by irrelevant »