News:

Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

Beginner's Guide to Modding for Banished PART 2 - Clean Up / a simple fence

Started by scoutae4, November 23, 2023, 01:12:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scoutae4

PART 2 – CLEAN UP / Beginner's Guide to Modding for Banished: a simple fence

This section will cover clean up and file prep for both the SketchUp and Blender models created in PARTS 1A & 1B. You can download copies of either if you need them, links at bottom. I am working in Blender v4. My thanks as always to @kid1293 for his advice and guidance.

A reminder that I am a beginner and this is just what I think I've figured out so far.

If you are working with a SketchUp model launch Blender and set up your workspace as described in steps 1 thru 4 of PART 1B. Then navigate to FILE > IMPORT > COLLADA (dae.) to import your "SketchUpFence.dae" file. If you will be working with the Blender model you can just open it, naturally.  ;)

Optional: If you would like to see your progress, toggle open the SHOW OVERLAYS button in the top right corner of the 3D VIEWPORT and enable STATISTICS.

SketchUp models import with extra information that will require a few more steps to prepare. Click the empty area next to the top item in your collection to display the details.

.01 REMOVE HIDDEN GEOMETRY / The bottom faces of our posts will never be seen in the game so let's delete them. Tab into EDIT MODE and select FACES. Adjust your view to see the bottom of your fenceposts. Select and press "delete" (or with the SketchUp version, select +shift click to load both Tris then press "delete"), then chose FACES from the popup options. In the Blender model we had created LINKED COPIES of the posts so when you delete the bottom face of Fence Post 1, Fence Post 2 is automatically deleted as well.