News:

Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

Need a bit of help creating a simple mod

Started by Maoman, September 06, 2015, 01:39:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Maoman

This post is copied from my reddit post in /r/Banished. A user there suggested I try here. I appreciate any help. :) I have little experience modding, mostly just tiny changes to variables and such in skyrim or Feed the Beast, like this mod I'm trying here.

Anyways. As far as I can tell, all I need is the file location of the audio .wav files for the chicken, cow, and sheep in a steam install. I can't find them anywhere. If you want more information (or if you want to figure out for yourself if there's a way to do this without the .wav files), continue reading.

____

I have 50 sheep, 40 cows, and 130 chicken, and I'm only gonna get more. Running the game at 10x speed is already killing my ears and it's gonna get worse. I found the mod Quieter Livestock (http://banishedinfo.com/mods/view/53-Quieter-Livestock#description) but it's not enough for me - but at the same time, I don't want them completely silent, so I figured I'd edit the file myself. That was easy enough, but I figured if I was going to do that, may as well package it into a mod I can upload to the workshop for others, right?

Well there's my problem - As far as I can tell, everything is set up correctly to be packaged, but when I do so, It tries to find the .wav files for the animals, which I don't have. I know why it's doing that, I'm trying to package the .rsc files for the animals which target the .wav files in the code like so:

SoundBuffer version0
    {
       bool _looping = false;
       String _wave = "Audio\Animal\Sheep0.wav";
    }

But if I simply remove all that and only leave the variable I'm changing:

AnimAudioEvent event
    {
       SoundEffect _soundEffect = "resource";
       float _chance = 0.0025;
    }