News:

Welcome to World of Banished!

Main Menu

Beginner's Guide to Modding for Banished PART 1B - a simple fence with Blender

Started by scoutae4, October 24, 2023, 09:02:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scoutae4

PART 1B: Same as PART 1A, only in Blender!

**Update 11/8/2023: numbers 22 & 23 revised to add APPLY LOCATION**

My thanks as always to @kid1293 who created the model and the original tutorial! Truly.

I am a beginner so this may have to be corrected/refined down the road as I learn what I don't yet know. All comments, corrections, suggestions are welcome!

CTRL + Z = UNDO <- this is your friend.  ;)

Some basic navigation in Blender using a three button mouse:

ROTATE: Press + Hold the Middle Mouse Button
ZOOM: Scroll Middle Mouse Button
PAN: Shift + Middle Mouse Button

.01 Launch Blender and click outside of the WELCOME SPLASH (or press escape) to make it go away.

.02 SHIFT + CLICK to select the CAMERA, CUBE, and LIGHT from your 3D VIEWPORT, and press DELETE to remove them.

.03 Right click on the TIMELINE at the bottom of your screen and select CLOSE AREA as we will not need this (for now at least, possibly in the future if the game developer makes Banished open source?)

.04 From the PROPERTIES MENU on the bottom right, select the SCENE PROPERTIES tab, and toggle the UNITS section. Change the UNIT SYSTEM to METRIC, and the UNIT SCALE to 1.000000. A square on the grid in Blender will now equal 1 meter squared and 1 game tile square in Banished.

.05 Press Shift + A to call up the ADD options and select MESH > CUBE to add a cube to your scene. As you can see the cube sits beneath the "floor" in our 3D VIEWPORT grid. We need to make it level with the ground.

.06 Enable TOGGLE X-RAY in the top right of your 3D VIEWPORT (or press ALT + Z) so we can see through the faces of our cube for easier editing.